Unanswered Prayers

When my oldest daughter was four years old, she prayed for snow.  She prayed with all the earnestness and faith that only a child could have.  We taught her that if you prayed and if you really believed then God could do anything.  The biggest problem with her prayer was she wanted snow in June in North Carolina. I believe God can do anything and in a very serious way, I would not have been surprised to somehow see at least a little snow the next day.  My daughter was very upset in the morning when she got up and looked out the window. All she saw were fields green with corn and not one single snowflake. I explained to her that if God had made it snow, then the corn would have died and people would have gone hungry, just to make her happy for one day.  God is not a genie in a bottle and we get three wishes. Prayer is about strengthening our relationship with God and listening to what He says as well as letting Him know about our concerns and needs. I believe in prayer and I believe that God sees and knows a lot more than I do. If He does not give me what I pray for, then there is a reason and if I don’t understand it then I will still trust Him and I will always love Him.  He has answered so many of my prayers. One of the greatest answers to my prayers was when we were able to adopt our daughter.

 

Romans 8:26-28

In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.   And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.  And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

Song of the Day:  Even If by Mercy Me

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B6fA35Ved-Y

 

Photo by Nicolas Picard on Unsplash

Leave a comment